The Waves dominate end of season awards

The Waves' Nykodah Smith was named player of the year. Picture: SHANE JONES

By Shane Jones

The Waves dominated the Wide Bay Premier League men’s competition and now the team’s players and coaches have been rewarded for their season of success.

The club took out player and coach of the year in Football Queensland Wide Bay’s end of season awards for the Wide Bay Premier League men and women announced last week.

After scoring 50 goals during the season, The Waves’ striker Nykodah Smith was named as player of the year.

He also claimed the golden boot award, presented to the year’s leading goalscorer.

Meanwhile, his coach John Brillante was named coach of the year, after guiding the team to three trophies during the season and success as the best team in Wide Bay in the FFA Cup.

Finally, goalkeeper Sam Collinson was named goalkeeper of the year.

Both Collinson and Smith also made the Wide Bay Premier League team of the year, alongside Dylan and Cory Leggett.

They are among 10 Bundaberg players selected for the 16-person team, alongside Lachlan Scarborough (Brothers Aston Villa), Joel Haack (Bingera), Luke Coates (United Park Eagles), Gary O’Donnell (Bingera), Josh Medcalf (Bingera) and Josh Adcock (United Park Eagles).

For the women, Bundaberg missed out on the player of the year, with Sunbury’s Kirsty Frehmann taking out the top gong.

But Bundaberg did win the goalkeeper award, with Ruby Rowlands from the United Park Eagles and Renee Bock from The Waves sharing the award.

Both made the team of the year as well, with nine other Bundaberg players joining them in the 16-person squad.

Lucy Hamilton, Madison Masterman-Smith, Zali Haster and Taylor Stumer got selected from UPE with Zoe Sobczak, Olivia Zunker, Tayla Zielke and Alex Brunker selected from The Waves.

Hayley Sparozvich from Bingera rounded out the team.

Finally, Gin Gin was named club of the year for having the least red and yellow cards in its teams during the season.