Bundaberg drivers claim minor places in state title race

Gympie's Aiden Rigby defends Queensland title. Images: Brendan Bowers

Brendan Bowers

The 21/22 Maryborough Speedway season came to an end on Saturday night with Gympie’s Aidan Rigby defending his State SSA Junior Sedan title in the feature event.

Rigby defending the 2021 title he won in Roma, was out to prove that he was still the one to beat.

It started well for Rigby, who won heat four before failing to register a time in heat six. A second behind Kurtis Peall in Heat 15 set him up for a finals tilt.

In the A-Main, he beat home Bundaberg drivers Billy MacDonald and Kurtis Peal to claim the title for the second year in a row.

His time of 12.02.939 was .540 a second ahead of MacDonald and 1.0226 from Peall.

Maryborough Speedway president Paul Swindells congratulated Rigby and the other drivers on their efforts on the night.

“The racing was superb, and it was a great way to finish the season,” Swindells said.

Another highlight of the night for Swindells was the Dirt Modifieds.

“They really turned it on,” he said.

Kevin Britten claimed the A-Main race ahead of Terry Leerentveld and Chris Corbett.

The National 4 category was won by Andrew Pickering ahead of Joshua Rigby and Graham Caldwell.

Dale Morrison claimed the Street Stocks A-Main ahead of Darren Ciesiolka and Ken Carroll, while Barrie Tasker claimed the Nostalgia A-Main race.

The F500 race was one by Luke Edwards ahead of Ken Newton and Paul Swindells, while Chay Corbet beat Brock Hughes and Alex Rudolph in the juniors.

The Stock Cars A-main was claimed by Scott Phipps ahead of Scott Smith and Kev Ryan.